• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 GJarrett

GJarrett

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 December 2007 - 08:02 AM

Here goes for a first post from a newbie here. I have been lurking and reading many of the threads and FAQs here for the past several days.

I'm trying to find a good explanation of exactly how to do the minimal movement method, and yes I did search. I searched for "minimal movement" here and got over a hundred hits in sixty-seven threads and I looked into all the threads. In every single instance when anyone here asks for the minimal movement method to be explained, the only answer offered is a variation of "search, it's been discussed here dozens of times" or "the toools site explains it fully". In none of those sixty seven threads did I see one of those dozens of times it has been explained. When I tried to access the toools forum, it informed me that I was denied access and had to be invited by a member of that forum to register.

I did find one helpful post that drew a picture of exactly how far to file the tip and shoulder (one half tooth/one pin width) which leads me to believe that the technique might be to insert the key all the way with the pins resting in the bottom valleys, so maybe bumping them from that position for one-half a tooth length will result in bouncing the pins the rest of the way up to the shear line (?) However that still leaves tension/angle of hit/etc to guesswork.

I am a moderator on a website with over 74,000 members and 1.6 million posts so I know how to search. Yes I've told noobs there to search dozens of times, but at our site the irony is that it has become so huge that a search there will now typically result in a gazillion hits that would take days to surf through posts that have the search term followed by someone posting "do a search" while never finding the actual info... so I do understand the frustration of newbies sometimes and have gotten a little easier on them.