• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 govt1911

govt1911

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 August 2007 - 01:42 AM

I've learned alot by reading posts here and would like to contribute what I can. I'm fairly new at locksmithing and related tasks/skills, but I've been an avid shooter/competitor/collector/home gunsmith for many years.

If any of ya'll have any firearms related questions, I'll do my best to answer them.

I'm most familiar with handguns and military semiautomatic rifles, especially the 1911 and FN FAL platforms.

John

#2 BLK

BLK

Pure Genius

• Members
  • 321 posts

Posted 10 August 2007 - 04:23 AM

I recently put a new hammer and beavertail on my M1911 GI Model. It was a standard GI model including the web biter tail piece and hammer. I got the Commander style hammer and beavertail installed without any problem. BUT, I cannot get the safety fully installed now. It will not seat completely. It will go in all but 1/16" or less, but it will not seat or move once it is in that far. The rest seems to be fine--it will cycle, trigger works, hammer drops, trigger will not work when the grip safety is not engaged (as it should not), etc. Any clues as to why the safety won't work? I have a 1911 Gunsmith video with complete dissembly, assembly and troubleshooting but nothing in it points to this type of problem.

The new hammer is from the manufacturer of the gun and the beavertail is a Wilson Combat drop in that works as it should and fits very well on this model. Any ideas as to why the safety will not fully seat and will not move at all?
Bump it to the next level.

#3 govt1911

govt1911

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 August 2007 - 12:16 PM

If you strip the frame down, will the safety seat completely?
I've got to run out on mission, I should be able to check back here later and give you a few ideas to try.

#4 govt1911

govt1911

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 August 2007 - 10:19 PM