Photo
- - - - -

sincerely curious.. what are the 'legal' uses for a bumpkey?

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 cal_gecko

cal_gecko

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 02 March 2007 - 06:52 PM

what is a legal/legitimate use for a bumpkey besides opening a lock that you're not supposed to be opening (otherwise, you'd have the proper key for it)? I am genuinely curious.

#2 BLK

BLK

Pure Genius

• Members
  • 321 posts

Posted 03 March 2007 - 08:40 AM

As a locksmith, I open doors for people that lock their keys inside their houses or businesses.

As a locksportster, I beat locks that are otherwise hard to open. http://www.locksport.../home/index.php

Some emergency responders use them to limit damage to doors or windows in making entry to buildings.

Assuming that the only reason anyone would have a bump key is to commit a crime is a bad assumption.

Out of curiosity, do you have any bump keys? If you do, why do you have them? Do you have any valid reason for having bump keys?
Bump it to the next level.

#3 cal_gecko

cal_gecko

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 03 March 2007 - 10:00 AM

I do not have any bumpkeys. Obviously there's been a lot of news coverage about them recently, and someone pointed out this forum to me while ranting about thieves, burglars and bumpkeys .. so the first assumption that I (as well as a lot of other people who had never heard of bumpkeys before) made was that this was a forum for burglars/theives to talk about how they're breaking into people's homes with the keys they're making.

#4 Customer Support

Customer Support

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 753 posts

Posted 03 March 2007 - 10:49 AM

wow is all i can say.

It's very obvious with statements like: "was a forum for burglars/theives to talk about how they're breaking into people's homes with the keys they're making."
you have obviously NOT taken 2 seconds to browse this forum and see what we are all about. I don't really know what else to say.