• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 corkywagz

corkywagz

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 November 2006 - 08:00 PM

I have a master lock to practice on and I made the bump key. I just cant seem to get it to work.

I also went out and got a Kwikset lock and it worked fine. It seems like this master lock just doesnt want to let me pop it. Any ideas?

-Corey

#2 bentpick

bentpick

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 02 November 2006 - 09:51 PM

Unlike a kwikset lock, a master padlock requires heavy tension. I hope this helps.

#3 corkywagz

corkywagz

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 November 2006 - 12:39 AM

still cant get it to go. The schalge lock isnt working for me either. The kwickset is a joke now its so easy. Grrr...

#4 bentpick

bentpick

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 03 November 2006 - 09:21 AM

The Schlage lock (the key in knob type) needs very light tension, less than the kwikset. The Master lock is definitely a little trickier to open-I use the method where I pull the key out one notch as opposed to the minimal movement method. It requires heavy tension and a nice crisp whack with the hammer. Also, I use a flexible bump hammer. Good luck!

#5 corkywagz

corkywagz

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 November 2006 - 06:13 PM

so I got the master lock today. Once I had the tip of pulling the key out a little to start it worked perfectly. Now I just need to get this schalge lock. Thanks for the advice.

I am going to try and get the schlage done by the advice I got earlier. anyone else know and hints or tips?

#6 bentpick

bentpick

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 03 November 2006 - 06:42 PM

Just remember, with the Schlage lock the amount of tension is very very light, much lighter than the kwikset... almost nonexistent.
Good luck!

#7 str1ker

str1ker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 November 2006 - 12:01 PM