• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 smiley

smiley

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 October 2006 - 04:12 PM

okay, so i know some of you are having trouble learning how to bump a lock. its really quite simple. with a few tips hopefully i can increase your luck/skill. i have been picking locks(as a hobbiest) for many years, i started on paperclips and padlocks and quickly went to real pics and 6 pin deadbolts. anyways here ares some tips i found answer lots of the questions commonly asked on here.

firstly; How hard do i hit the key?

i have found the simplist way to put this is a reflex test at a doctors office, perhaps a tad harder. where they hit your knee with their little rock hammer to induce a reflex kick. thats about the force needed to bump a lock. i use a heavy screwdriver and hold it right below the handle by the shaft(metal). i let the screwdriver rest loosly in my grip(so it rocks back and forth when i move my hand), then i just give it a tap.

faq #2; how much tension do i need?

first off tension is the amount of pressure required to turn the lock once(basically) during picking/bumping. too much tension and the lock will bind up and you will get nowhere. not enough and the pins will not catch and you will also get nowhere. so how much is enough? well i define it as your hand is pressed up against the door with fingers pointed up and the palm almost touching the door. the thumb is then resting on the bottom of the key pressing slightly on the bottom of the key to rotate it. the amount of pressure is about the weight of your hand on the key. not really much pressure at all, very light, your finger should not be turning red lol. just a light pressure, like that of a half twist tension wrench slightly bending(for you conventional pickers out there)

What can i use to bump with(striker/hammer)?