• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mildlyincoherent

mildlyincoherent

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 October 2006 - 07:44 PM

Hello. I'm a bumpkey newbie (sorry). I just received a few of them in the mail, and have been trying unsuccessfully to get them to work for the past two hours or so. I'm getting rather exasperated. I'm wondering if it is possible to make a bumpkey unusable by filing off to much of the tip/shoulder? I only took off about .5mm (in an attempt to get the minimal movement method to work). No such luck. I also think I may have killed one of them (a KW 10) by attempting to poorly file it down into 10-10-10.

My second question is do you know of any reputable place to get bumpkeys with the shoulder and tip already modified? (not sure if posting links is against the site's TOS, if so please ignore this request).

Lastly, do you guys have any tips for the novice? I've tried both methods, and all different amounts of pressure and torque...but just can't seem to get it to work. Will making a tool like the one depicted here http://www.lockpicki...=asc&highlight=
help?

Thanks in advance. Any help would be *much* apreciated.

#2 Kristic

Kristic

• Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 16 October 2006 - 08:18 PM

First off. Welcome to the forums!

Yes, if you file off too much on the shoulder or tip, it may make the key unusable. But, with that being said. I highly doubt that you shaved off too much. I found that I needed to file off just a little bit more than a .5 mm. Basically, you want to file it off, and keep testing it with the lock. You should be able to push it in just a little further, and actually feel the pins push it back out. When it does that, then you have filed enough.